Argentina

  1. Sergio Agüero V Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

    Through this blog post we are going to look back across the football careers of Agüero and Aubameyang to see how they performed for both club and national squads. While we do this, we will try and identify the strengths and weaknesses of both players. So, if you want to find out more about Agüero and Aubameyang and how their stats compare, then keep on reading.

    aguero 17/18

    Agüero’s 18/19 Premier League Performance

    To begin with, we will investigate the performance of Agüero during the 18/19 Premier League season which he spent wearing the signature sky blue and white Manchester City strip. In the bullet points below we have listed every match in the Premier League season that Agüero scored a goal along with the team it was against. This information in turn allows us to pinpoint any trends in his scoring for that season:

    • 19/08/2018 – 3 goals scored against Huddersfield
    • 22/09/2018 – 1 goal scored against Cardiff City
    • 29/09/2018 – 1 goal scored against Brighton
    • 20/10/2018 – 1 goal scored against Burnley FC
    • 04/11/2018 – 1 goal scored against Southampton
    • 11/11/2018 – 1 goal scored against Manchester United
    • 30/12/2018 – 1 goal scored against Southampton
    • 03/01/2019 – 1 goal scored against Liverpool
    • 29/01/2019 – 1 goal scored against Newcastle United
    • 03/02/2019 – 3 goals scored against Arsenal
    • 10/02/2019 – 3 goals scored against Chelsea (1 Penalty)
    • 27/02/2019 – 1 goal scored against West Ham (Penalty)
    • 30/03/2019 – 1 goal scored against Fulham
    • 28/04/2019 – 1 goal scored against Burnley FC
    • 12/05/2019 – 1 goal scored against Brighton
    Read more »
  2. Messi V Suárez - Barcelona's Strongest

    Messi V SuarezAs Barcelona’s top scorers, Messi and Suárez are often compared to one another. Throughout this blog post we are going to delve into the performance of both players from the previous season representing Barcelona as well as their nations to see how they work together compared to on their own or on the opposing sides of the pitch. So, if you want to find out more about these key players in La Liga, then keep on reading.

    Messi’s 2018/19 Performance

    First off, we are going to explore the performance on the pitch by Messi during the 2018/19 La Liga season representing Barcelona. Below we have broken down each goal he scored per match and what team it was against to try and establish where his strengths are:

    • 18/08/2018 – 2 goals scored against Alaves
    • 02/09/2018 – 2 goals scored against Huesca
    • 23/09/2018 – 1 goal scored against Girona
    • 07/10/2018 – 1 goal scored against Valencia
    • 20/10/2018 – 1 goal scored against Sevilla
    • 11/11/2018 – 2 goals scored against Real Betis
    • 08/12/2018 – 2 goals scored against Espanyol
    • 16/12/2018 – 3 goals scored against Levante
    • 22/12/2018 – 1 goal scored against Celta Vigo
    • 06/01/2019 – 1 goal scored against Getafe CF
    • 13/01/2019 – 1 goal scored against Eibar
    • 20/01/2019 – 1 goal scored against Leganes
    • 27/01/2019 – 1 goal scored against Girona
    • 02/02/2019 – 2 goals scored against Valencia (1 Penalty)
    • 16/02/2019 – 1 goal scored against Valladolid (Penalty)
    • 23/02/2019 – 3 goals scored against Sevilla
    • 09/03/2019 – 1 goal scored against Rayo Vallecano (Penalty)
    • 17/03/2019 – 3 goals scored against Real Betis
    • 30/03/2019 – 2 goals scored against Espanyol
    • 02/04/2019 – 1 goal scored against Villarreal
    • 06/04/20
    Read more »
  3. How Diego Maradona Shaped the Football Scene

    Every soccer player young and old needs an inspirational figure head to motivate them towards greatness. And Diego Maradona is exactly that, his excellent technical skill on the pitch, combined with his expertise with managing teams, he most certainly is an inspiration to all soccer enthusiasts. So whether you are a devoted player or are thinking of branching into a more managerial role in the football world, Maradona is a great example of how the transition can be made effortlessly. Therefore within this article we are going to explore the history of Maradona and how his football career evolved over the years. So continue reading if you want to find out more about this highly significant player.

    Where it all began for Maradona

    Diego Armando Maradona was born on the 30th October 1960 and was raised in a shanty town just outside of Buenos Aires called Villa Fiorito. He was the first boy born in his family and has three older sisters and two younger brothers. And although their family was on a very low budget, Diego discovered his love for soccer and practised his skills regularly.

    When he was only eight years old he was discovered by a talent scout when he was playing football at Estrella Roja which was a local club in his home town. Shortly after this he joined Los Cebollitas which was a junior soccer team for the Argentinos Juniors. And when he was 12 years old he used to amuse fans at matches by showcasing his soccer skills during half time of first division fixtures.

    Maradona’s Technique on the Pitch

    His skilful combination of dribbling, vision, close ball control, passing and creativity lead to him becoming one of the most adored players in the world. With his strong legs and short stature, Maradona’s centre of gravity was much lower than other player which allowed him to withstand physical pressure spectacularly while he was in possession of the ball. This therefore made him a fantastic strategist as he was able to hol

    Read more »
  4. Where to Watch the 2018 World Cup Across the Globe

    It’s nearly that time of year again when football fans crowd around the TV or their mobile phones with ultimate pride in their eyes as they watch their beloved team take to the pitch. This is why the World Cup is such a widely anticipated tournament across the globe as it is such a powerful way of uniting a country.

    Most children’s vivid memories of soccer begin when they watch their national team play. And this feeling of country pride carries on with them into adulthood and is passed on through generations. Making the love of the sport everlasting.

    As the World Cup is a passionate tournament, you will find that most countries will accommodate for streaming the games live from Russia in order for the fans to join in with the action and feel like they are actually there. 

    In this post we will take a look at the time scheduling per zones as well as what channels and applications you can used to watch the games on.

    Match Schedules for Group Stages

    As this year’s FIFA World Cup is held in Russia, you will find that the matches are aired at different times depending on what zone you are in. Common timings for these matches are:

    • 11AMBST/ 12PM CEST & SAST/ 1PM MSK/ 8PM AEST/ 6AM EDT/ 5AM CDT/ 6PM SGT
    • 1PM BST/ 2PM CEST & SAST/ 3PM MSK/ 10PM AEST/ 8AM EDT/ 7AM CDT/ 8PM SGT
    • 2PM BST/ 3PM CEST & SAST/ 4PM MSK/ 11PM AEST/ 9AM EDT/ 8AM CDT/ 9PM SGT
    • 3PM BST/ 4PM CEST & SAST/ 5PM MSK/ 12AM AEST/ 10AM EDT/ 9AM CDT/ 10PM SGT
    • 4PM BST/ 5PM CEST & SAST/ 6PM MSK/ 1AM AEST/ 11AM EDT/ 10AM CDT/ 11PM SGT
    • 5PM BST/ 6PM CEST & SAST/ 7PM MSK/ 2AM AEST/ 12PM EDT/ 11AM CDT/ 12AM SGT
    • 7PM BST/ 8PM CEST & SAST/ 9PM MSK/ 4AM AEST/ 2PM EDT/ 1PM CDT/ 2AM SGT
    • 8PM BST/ 9PM CEST & SAST/ 10PM MSK/ 5AM AEST/ 3PM EDT/ 2PM CDT/ 3AM SGT

    To find out when your team is playing in their group stages see below. The times

    Read more »
  5. 2018 FIFA World Cup Predictions

    With the World Cup in Russia fast approaching, there are lots of talk amongst supporters about who the stronger teams are this year. From previous winners to new comers, it is truly anyone’s game. Within the post we will try to establish who the main competitors are this season for the trophy as well as addressing who the underdogs could potentially be. 

    Previous Winners

    Established in 1930 the first ever World Cup took place in Uruguay and has since been hosted in a variety of countries across the globe. In history 5 countries have lifted the cup more than once, with the most wins being Brazil with 5 tournament victories. Below we will look at the break down of the winners in history:

    • Brazil – 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
    • Italy – 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
    • Germany – 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
    • Uruguay – 1930, 1950
    • Argentina – 1978, 1986
    • England – 1966
    • France – 1998
    • Spain – 2010

    Group Stages

    The group stages of the World Cup in Russia take place on the 14thJune starting with the home country vs Saudi Arabia and ends on the 28thwith the last match being Panama vs Tunisia. Let’s take a brief look at each of the groups and see who has the most potential to make it to the next round.

    Group A

    • Russia
    • Saudi Arabia
    • Egypt
    • Uruguay

    Uruguay is the strongest going by historic play, winning the cup in 1930 and 1950, they are back again for their 13thtournament. Despite their 12thplace in 2014, they also reached 4thin 2010. Behind them in tying for quality is Russia and Saudi Arabia. 

    Russia are the host country and having the backing of their home may be a fantastic motivator for the squad, as well as this they have stri

    Read more »
  6. Argentina's World Cup hopes rely on Lionel Messi performing

    Not all international friendlies tell the full picture leading into a major tournament, but Argentina’s problems on the world stage have been transparent for several years now. They might be possessed with star-studded names, but when all is said and done, there is only one player that continually drags them forward. And that is: Lionel Messi. 

    A 2-0 win against an Italy side going through a transition period a 6-1 demolition at the hands of Spain suggest things in Jorge Sampaoli’s squad are rather tumultuous. A lack of consistency, especially in World Cup qualifying, has been a present theme over the past 24 months.


    Although the Argentinean boss put out a weakened side, it was still staggering to see Julen Lopetegui’s men rip their opponents piece by piece, limb by limb in what can only be described as a massacre. La Albiceleste failed to create a game plan to stop Real Madrid star Isco, who carved open their midfield and defence, scoring a hat-trick of his own at the Etihad Stadium. The Spanish playmaker put his name up in lights against Sampaoli’s men, and made his case to Los Blancos manager Zinedine Zidane as to why he should be starting each week.

    It seems absurd that two players in Mauro Icardi, Serie A’s second best goalscorer, and Paulo Dybala, the heir to Messi, are set to miss out on their country’s 23-man World Cup squad. Sampaoli is said to have notified the Inter striker that he will not be going to Russia this week, partly due to his off field relationship with the players, which started from when Maxi Gomez, the former Sampdoria teammate of Icardi’s, accused the Argentine of cheating with his then-model girlfriend Wanda Nara. Shortly after their divorce was finalised, Icardi married Wanda and caused quite the controversy.

    The same can’t be said for Dybala, who must be wondering how on earth he is about to miss out on going to the World Cup. There’s one thing not starting, but another not even making the
    sq

    Read more »
  7. FIFA World Cup 2018 - Inspired by Past Successes

    8th December 2017.
    In anticipation of Russia 2018 next summer, a host of new soccer jerseys are being released for the team's that have secured qualification. German sportswear manufacturer Adidas has got ahead of the game, and began launching shirts toward the end of 2017. The FIFA World Cup 2018 Adidas football shirts released to date are all home edition jerseys, and the designs embody the strengths, passions and heritage of each nation involved, with a clearly retro look. Below we take a look at some of the Adidas 2018 World Cup kits launched so far.

    Argentina 2018 World Cup Home Kit


    The advertising campaign launching the Argentina home kit for the 2018 World Cup was fronted by the infamous Lionel Messi. Messi, one of the greatest footballers to have ever graced a soccer field, and an icon in the history of Argentinian football, has never won a major trophy with his country. This disparity, in an otherwise unblemished career, is clearly referenced with the design of the Argentina 2018 home shirt.

    Adidas has taken inspiration from team's 1993 Copa America jersey, winning that tournament marks the last big trophy won by the Argentine national team, you have to go back to 1986 for their most recent World Cup victory. Wearing a shirt based on the 1993 design, can Messi tick off 'World Cup Title' from his bucket list of footballing achievements? At the age of 31, and having already professed retirement once, 2018 is likely his last outing at a FIFA World Cup tournament, and his last opportunity to lift the trophy.

    The base of the 2018 World Cup Argentina home shirt is white, and features three sky blue vertical stripes on the front. The stripes truly reflect a slightly cloudy sky as the blue is tinged with fluffy white accents. The Argentina crest sits on the right with the Adidas logo opposite, three black stripes adorn the shoulders. The deep v-shaped neckline is edged with wide-white trim squaring off the central stripe.

    Read more »
  8. Sevilla's Loss of Jorge Sampaoli is Certainly Argentina's Gain

    9th June 2017. By Edward Stratmann.
    Following an overwhelmingly impressive first season in La Liga with Sevilla, it was disappointing to see their fiery manager, Jorge Sampaoli, leave to take over as Argentina's head coach.

    Having guided the Andalusian outfit to their second highest points total in La Liga history and an exemplary fourth placed league finish, he just couldn't resist the lure of managing Argentina - the country of his birth.

    "There's a clear intention from my country to have me as coach and, since I was young, it's something that has appealed to me," he insisted.

    He then went onto state that stepping into the position was "the fulfilling of a dream that I craved for a long time and that I've always admired this role."

    Had he stayed with Sevilla, it's hard not to think they could've accomplished great things together, for his team appeared genuine title challengers midway through the campaign and dark horses to go deep into the Champions League, until their form slipped away at the end of the season.

    Overseeing particularly impressive wins over Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid, plus a statement draw vs. Juventus in the Champions League group stages, the signs were indeed there that he could mould this side into a really special team for the future.

    But it wasn't to be, however, as his desire to manage his country won out. "The opportunity to guide the national team has come along again and, as an Argentinian, I cannot turn it down," he explained.

    "Even if this means that I may not have the opportunity to coach again European clubs, I feel I have to do this."

    It'll certainly be exciting to see how he embraces the challenge of working with some of the finest players in the world, though, and especially to see how he approaches getting the best out of superstar Lionel Messi.

    Read more »
  9. Ronaldo and Messi - Euro 2016 V Copa America

    13th July 2016. By Ryan Baldi.

    They are the two greatest players of their generation: that much is an undisputable fact. They are both also among the best footballers to ever lace up a pair of boots, with the astonishing ability to break record after record with a regularity that makes such achievements appear like menial quotidian chores.

    And for the mere fact that they exist within the same era, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will forever be inextricably bound to one another, whether they like it or not.

    As a footballing public, we would be lucky to see one player of such otherworldly quality strut his or her stuff within a period of decades. But that we get to enjoy the immense talents of Messi and Ronaldo together, week to week on opposing sides of one of football's greatest club rivalries, is a fact for which we should be eternally grateful.

    Yet it seems many are too caught up in the need to compare and contrast the two living legends, to fully appreciate the scale of what they have achieved, and continue to achieve.

    In a modern world in which information is limitless and available instantly at the tip of our fingers, it is completely understandable how we can easily become caught up in a pre-occupation over quantifying everything we see before us everything must be measured and placed into a definitive ranking.

    And football does not escape this compulsion to put a number next to every person, event, team or occurrence; the rise in prestige and popularity of individual awards such as the yearly Ballon d'Or has served only to popularise such pursuits.

    So it stands to reason that, when two players with such vast ability as Ronaldo and Messi are simultaneously at the height of their powers, we want to discern who is the better, there must be a number one and a number two we must measure the immeasurable.

    But there is no definitive metric to apply when judging the relative merits of two footballers.

    Read more »
  10. Nicolas Gaitan: An Inspiring Copa America Performance Ensures Summer Transfer Options.

    17th June 2016. By Edward Stratmann.
    Ahead of Argentina's mouthwatering Copa America opener with Chile, their manager, Gerardo Martino, was confronted with a crunch decision as to who should replace the injured Lionel Messi.

    His answer didn't require much thought, however, with Martino making the easy choice of selecting gifted Benfica star Nicolas Gaitan to fill in for the Barcelona magician.

    "I don't expect him to do anything like Leo," Martino explained.

    "I want him to be himself more than ever because he has a very good condition, and he can do it. He is fast, he passes the ball very well, he dribbles very well. He's a very complete player."

    Martino's words made perfect sense, for it's impossible to replace the inordinately talented Messi, so to let Gaitan play his own game was clearly the right decision. And it suitably paid off, as the 28-year-old put in a brilliant shift, without the expectations of replicating arguably the world's finest player burdening him.

    Gaitan had no issues coping with the occasion, in what was his first major tournament for his country, despite having received 13 previous caps. "I have never been in a competition with Argentina, not even in the Under-20s," he said prior to kick off.

    As predicted, Gaitan started the match out on the right wing, and within two minutes he'd already had an impact, powering a superbly timed header into the bar. From that solid starting base, he worked his way into the game nicely, using his delightful passing game, mazy dribbling style and tactical intelligence to go onto play a vital role in his side's stirring 2-1 triumph.

    After a promising first 23 minutes, he then switched flanks with Angel Di Maria. While he still influenced the game in a positive manner from the left, there was no question he looked better on the right,

    Read more »
Page

We accept the following payment methods...

Payment Methods